On My Desk

I’ve got a lot to do today as I will be taking tomorrow off to haul the Orca out of the water for winter storage and I took off a little early yesterday to go surfing with my son. Sailing on the Great Lakes means storing your boat on land during the winter. I also take down the mast, set it on two “A” frames I set up on the boat and cover it all with a huge tarp.

Anyway, I thought I’d just look through one of the piles on my desk to see what’s there.

On top is the December 2007 issue of Fine Woodworking with a couple of book marks I’ve stuck on (I like to use these little post-it sticky tabs as I scan magazines). One is for an article that discusses how to weave Danish cord for a seat. I love the look of a Danish cord seat and have been meaning to explore some ideas for seating based on that. I have a book that describes how to do it but this article has a lot of great pictures. The other article marked is about yet another set up for routing tapered, sliding dovetails which is a great way to hold shelves into the sides of a case for bookcases.

Next I have the December 2007 issue of Woodwork with an article marked that discusses wipe-on finishes and the “unfriendly” labeling many of them have. It’s important to get beyond the front labels and understand something about the chemistry of these finishes.

I also have the November 2007 issue of Dwell with a cover article about green architecture and sustainability. Designer Jennifer Siegal graces the cover as well. From skimming the article about her practice in the magazine she appears to be just my kind of designer, something about “crunchy-granola-meets-industrial-vibe”.

OK, American Style just arrived this morning with an awe inspiring article about the glass artist David Bennet. His use of blown glass and cast bronze in figurative sculpture is great.

I’ve got three or for sheets I printed out of mock-ups for my new web site with penciled in notes. I took a couple of them home to show my wife to get her feedback. Well worth the effort.

And now my copy of “The Yachtsman’s Guide to the Bahamas” originally compiled by Harry Etheridge (1910-1957) with Harry Kline as editor and illustrator. This edition came out in 1970 and was brand new when I got it. The cover is missing now and pages are well thumbed. At the time I was unpaid crew on board a chartered sloop, something about 40 feet long or so, that my captain had contracted to teach sailing and navigation on for the Bahama Sailing School based in Eleuthra. What a summer that was.

Moving on I see the Summer 2007 copy of Epoxyworks from the Gougeon brothers. This is a great little publication full of projects, tips and in depth data about using epoxy.

There’s also a July/August 1995 issue of Wooden Boat with an article marked about making the Six Hour Canoe. Earlier this summer I did a workshop for the Milwaukee Community Sailing Center in which we taught a group of teenage girls a little about boat building by building two 6 Hour Canoes in three sessions. On the fourth session they were able to paddle them around in the inner harbor. Many of these girls, although they live in Milwaukee, had never seen Lake Michigan.

Enough desk top excavation for now. Tomorrow I’ll haul out Orca so I won’t likely be back to blogging until next Monday. Have a great weekend.

Todd

Leave a Reply

