The Master in the art of living…

buddha.jpg

The Master in the art of living makes little distinction between his work and his play, his labor and his leisure, his mind and his body, his education and his recreation, his love and his religion. He hardly knows which is which. He simply pursues his vision of excellence in whatever he does. leaving others to decide whether he is working or playing. To him he is always doing both.

-Zen Buddhist Text

-page 41, volume sixteen, number four of “The Surfer’s Journal” , a magazine worth every penny, surfer or not.

Other’s have said this or have quoted this (google) but this magazine has such a nice way of presenting it.

update:

I flinched a little at the epigrammatic-ness of the above post, I’m not usually prone to passing epigrams. However, after writing about entropy below I felt a need to try for a little balance.

Making things for other people requires a viewpoint that considers the end, the final product and a completion date. Much of how I like to live my life is with a viewpoint of the path, the moment, the dance as it unfolds. Somewhere in between is where I fall.

Whether the above was originally said by James A. Michener, a Zen master or the guy next door (well, in my case I can hardly believe he’d say this) it works for me in my balancing act of business, life, art, fun, work.

3 thoughts on “The Master in the art of living…

  1. Yeah, it not only says a lot it conveys such hope.

    Here’s another one (I think it’s on this blog somewhere else as well)

    The Tao is near and
    people seek it far
    away.

    My copy of this credits Menicus so it’s Confucian, not Zen. Something to think about, nevertheless, when one is searching.

    Something I try and instill in apprentices as they come and go through the studio is that there are many, many ways to start towards the one center.

    Thanks for your comment. BTW, I liked your post about W. Wofford.

  2. Zen is special to me. There is a horse named Zen that comes into my dreams whenever things are going badly. He shows up and everything is restored to good. One night in my dream I was worried that one day the problem would be so big that Zen might not be enough. I was really afraid of this when I heard the sound of thunder. An entire herd of Zens appeared from nowhere and rumbled through my dream and I knew there would always be as many Zens as are ever needed.

Leave a Reply

