Surf Board Table III -iv

glue-up.jpg

The table base is glued up. While the glue sets I’ll start sanding the boards I’ve glued up for the top. First I set up some cross pieces on a work bench.

set-up.jpg

By using shims I can get the three cross pieces aligned in a single plane. This helps as I need to now sand the top as flat as I can. Having the work piece rest on a flat plane helps a lot. And now I begin sanding the top. Table tops take a lot of sanding.

todd_sanding.jpg

I start with a belt sander.

To make sure that I am sanding the work piece flat I check it often with a pair of winding sticks.

p1010004.jpg

And then I go back to sanding. Eventually I get one face flat, then I turn it over and work on the other face. After an hour or so of using the belt sander I turn to a jig I developed some years ago to further flatten the work and to take out the machine marks left by the power belt sander.

p1010006.jpg

It’s good exercise!

When the top is flat and smoothed I lay the pattern back on it, trace the outline one more time and then cut it out with a jig saw.

p1010009.jpg

Sorry about the dust on the camera lens. Things are pretty dusty at this point.

The sawn edge is smoothed by using a sharp block plane.

block-plane.jpg

The edge is then rounded over with a router.

router.jpg

And the top is starting to look like a surfboard.

top1.jpg

 

Next in the series.

One thought on “Surf Board Table III -iv

  1. Pingback: Surf Board Table III -iii « Art Furniture Design

Leave a Reply

